Manufacturing & industry · Canada
OntarioBattery manufacturingConstruction

PowerCo appoints EllisDon at St. Thomas as battery plant timeline shifts to 2029

The Ontario battery project has a named general contractor for its next construction phase, but the new operating target replaces an earlier 2027 expectation.

Updated September 28, 20263 min read

St. Thomas City Hall in Ontario, photographed in September 2012 as a local illustration, not a view of the PowerCo construction site.
St. Thomas City Hall 2, Groovy photos, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 3.0. September 2012 geographical illustration.

PowerCo has appointed EllisDon as general contractor for its battery factory in St. Thomas, Ontario, while moving its expected start of operations to 2029. The September 24, 2026 announcement combines a construction milestone with a revised schedule. To follow industrial developments across Canada, readers can try PipeSignals free and configure their market monitoring on the platform.

A contractor appointment, not a new factory announcement

In its September 24 statement, PowerCo says the next phase will advance core infrastructure and structural work. The initial scope includes the production building shell, mechanical, electrical and plumbing systems, energy and utility infrastructure, and site services. The company describes a phased approach intended to match development with market demand and evolving battery technology.

The project itself is older. Volkswagen’s April 2023 announcement projected production beginning in 2027. PowerCo’s current update refers to progress since the 2025 groundbreaking. The new information is therefore the contractor appointment, the next construction scope and the revised operating horizon, not the selection of St. Thomas as a location.

Locvox reporter Anthony Zruna’s September 24 article, subsequently updated, corroborates the change to 2029 and includes a separate interview with the mayor. It also identifies an important limit: the announcement does not specify initial production capacity or explain precisely what level of activity the term “operations” will mean in 2029.

What the construction scope could mean for suppliers

For industrial electrical and utility specialists, the named infrastructure categories offer a more concrete starting point than the overall factory ambition. A relevant next step could be to establish whether a proposed service belongs within EllisDon’s construction responsibilities or a package retained by PowerCo. The release does not provide that contractual map.

Mechanical contractors and commissioning specialists could similarly investigate the boundary between building systems and production equipment. A supplier would need to confirm specifications, qualification requirements and the timing of any remaining procurement. A publicly named scope does not mean its subcontracting decisions remain open.

The appointment also changes the questions a business development team should ask. An approach to the project owner may be appropriate for one category and irrelevant for another. Before preparing a proposal, a vendor would need evidence of the buying route and an actual requirement. No invitation to bid is identified in the sources.

A revised date still leaves sequencing unresolved

The 2029 horizon should not be treated as a deadline applying uniformly to every supplier. Building work, equipment installation and operational preparation can involve different schedules. Their precise sequence at St. Thomas is not established by this announcement, so a commercial forecast based on a single opening year would be premature.

A useful watchlist could instead track separately documented construction packages, equipment decisions and commissioning milestones. Each would help distinguish a current purchasing requirement from a longer-term possibility. Until those details emerge, the project supports targeted qualification work rather than assumptions about available contract value.

PowerCo has clarified who will manage the next construction phase while leaving production scale and detailed timing unresolved. For subsequent updates on this project and other Canadian industrial investments, PipeSignals lets readers configure their own ongoing market watch.

Frequently asked questions

What changed on September 24, 2026?
PowerCo announced EllisDon as general contractor, outlined the next construction scope and said operations are expected in 2029.
Is 2029 the original production target?
No. Volkswagen’s April 2023 announcement projected a 2027 start. The new update does not specify initial production capacity or the exact operating level expected in 2029.
Can suppliers treat this as an open tender?
No. The announcement identifies scope but not available packages. Procurement routes, qualification requirements and remaining buying decisions need separate confirmation.

PowerCo’s full release, its dated news index and Locvox’s full original reporting establish the September 24 milestone. The release sits at a pathname and page header referring to October 2025, but its body and news-index entry explicitly date the current announcement to September 24, 2026. Volkswagen’s 2023 release documents the earlier schedule. The 2029 target is not an independently verified completion date; initial capacity and procurement availability remain unspecified. The image is a local historical illustration: St. Thomas City Hall 2 on Wikimedia Commons, photographed by Groovy photos in September 2012, under the CC BY-SA 3.0 licence. It does not show the factory.

Manufacturing & industry · Canada

New projects from this edition by email. Free, with no signup to other editions.

One email a week. Unsubscribe in one click.

All publications in this edition

Your radar

Try the radar for free

Give us your website address. We work out your offer and your target, then show you the opportunities found on your market.

Opportunity radar · Identified leads · Verified emails · LinkedIn connect · AI Outreach Copilot